chessbase india logo

Andrei Shchekachev triumphs at Paris IdF Masters 2022, Harsha Bharathakoti second

by Shahid Ahmed - 18/07/2022

GM Andrei Shchekachev (FRA) and GM Harsha Bharathakoti scored 6.5/9 each at Paris IdF Masters. Andrei won the tournament due to better tie-breaks, Harsha was placed second. Four players - GM Daniil Yuffa (ESP), IM Dhulipalla Bala Chandra Prasad, IM Sidhant Mohapatra and IM Milosz Szpar (POL) scored 6/9 each. They were placed third to sixth as per tie-breaks. Harsha beat the eventual champion Andrei in the sixth round. 12-year-old FM Aarav Dengla scored an IM-norm. Total prize fund of the tournament was €13000. Top three prizes were €2500, €1200 and €1000 along with a trophy each.

Aarav Dengla scores IM-norm

The next best thing to winning the tournament is to beat the winner of the tournament. GM Andrei Shchekachev (FRA) suffered his only loss of the event against GM Harsha Bharathakoti who remained undefeated throughout the event. 12-year-old FM Aarav Dengla earned an IM-norm scoring 5/9 with a performance of 2456.

Runner-up - GM Harsha Bharathakoti 6.5/9

L to R - 2nd GM Harsha Bharathakoti, 3rd GM Daniil Yuffa (ESP) and 2nd GM Andrei Shchekachev (FRA), FM Daniel Fischer (SUI) and FM Aarav Dengla | Photo: Official site

Harsha - Andrei, Round 6

Position after 32.Qxb5

White already had a better position arising out of the English Opening. The exchange of queens 32...Qxb5 33.axb5 only accelerated White's winning chances. Despite White having a doubled passed pawn on the b-file, Black is unable to capture it due to them being tactically defended. Rest was just a matter of time and technique for Harsha to convert his advantage into a full point.

The tournament hall at Espace Phelippes Beaulieux in Sautron, France | Photo: Tour Blanche Echecs

A total of 48 players including 7 GMs, 12 IMs and 2 WGMs took part in the Open A category from 12 countries across the world. The event was organized by IdF Chess League from 12th to 17th July 2022 in Paris, France. The time control was 90 minutes/40 moves + 30 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings in Classical

pl Last nameRatingCat.fedeLeagueR1R 2R 3R 4R 5R 6R 7R 8R 9PointsTr.Perf
2507FSen MIDF+ 29N=+ 25B+ 3B+ 13N- 2N= 7B+ 11N= 4B39½2633
2547FSen M+ 41N= 13B+ 10N= 26B= 4N+ 1B+ 15N= 7N= 9B392598
YUFFA Daniil
2603 FSen M+ 5B+ 42N= 7B- 1N= 14B= 27B+ 29N= 6N+ 18B638½2517
2423FSen M+ 35B= 21N= 40B+ 16N= 2B- 7N+ 25B+ 14N= 1N637½2496
SIDHANT Mohapatra
2315 FSen M- 3N= 44B= 31N+ 23B+ 33N== 18B+ 25N+7B634½2513
SZPAR Milosz
2431FJunM- 40N+ 38B= 39N+ 30B= 17N+ 16B= 8N= 3B+ 15N6342454
2452FJunMIDF+39B+ 37N= 3N- 13B+ 26N+ 4B= 1N= 2B- 5N40½2501
ONKOUD Abdelaziz
2289FSen MIDF+11B= 18N= 15B=+ 10N== 6B= 9N= 12B38½2528
BOGNER Sebastian
2545FSen MIS+ 14B= 25N= 27B= 17B== 19N+ 28N= 8B= 2N362441
2433FSen MCAP+ 17B+ 20N- 2B= 14N- 8B=+ 19N= 13B+ 28N362425



Official site

Ligue Île-de-France des Échecs twitter

Related news:
Abhimanyu Puranik clinches 40th Cappelle la Grande Open 2024 with a 2686 performance

@ 13/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sushanth Kamabathula wins 1st Festival du Manoir Hotel Touquet Golf Resort Open 2024

@ 11/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bharath Subramaniyam H clinches 37th Cannes Open 2024 with a 2661 performance

@ 04/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain convincingly clinches 3rd Tours Open 2024

@ 30/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain victorious at 16th Marseille International Festival 2023

@ 18/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sankalp Gupta sensational at 20th Bois Colombes Master 2023 with a 2712 performance

@ 14/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pranesh M wins 32nd Caen Open 2023, Nubairshah third

@ 14/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Deep Sengupta clinches 21st Capechecs Open 2023, Sayantan Das second

@ 12/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Nikita Petrov wins 1st Annemasse International Festival 2023, Sayantan second and Sahaj third

@ 06/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain dominates 1st Saint-Macaire Autumn Open 2023

@ 04/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Karthikeyan Murali clinches 1st Imaweb Trophy GM Tournament 2023

@ 03/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Iniyan wins 27th Creon Open 2023, Bharath Subramaniyam second

@ 30/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain wins 14th Vaujany Open 2023

@ 31/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sebastian Bogner clinches 96th Paris IdF Masters 2023, Harshavardhan second and Karthik Venkataraman third

@ 26/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harikrishna wins French Top 16 for Asnières le Grand Échiquier

@ 13/06/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
S Rohith Krishna clinches 19th Malakoff Open 2023

@ 15/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Christian Bauer wins 10th Martinique Open - Joel Gratien Memorial, Priyanka second and Karthik third

@ 11/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harsha Bharathakoti wins Chessemy Blitz Open 2023, Diptayan second and Sayantan third

@ 15/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harshavardhan wins Manoir hotel Touquet golf resort Open 2023, Iniyan second and Nitin third

@ 13/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sayantan Das convincingly clinches 6th Cannes Chess Open 2023, becomes India's 81st Grandmaster

@ 02/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sethuraman wins 39th Cappelle la Grande Open 2023 on his 30th birthday, Harsha Bharathakoti second

@ 25/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Diptayan Ghosh wins 21st Rochefort Chess Festival Masters 2023, Harsha Bharathakoti third

@ 20/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pranesh conquers 33rd City of Cannes Summer Open 2022

@ 24/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harsha Bharathakoti dominates 24th HZ University of Applied Sciences Open 2022

@ 16/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Marc' Andria Maurizzi clinches 2nd Bastia Open 2022, M R Venkatesh second

@ 12/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Anton Korobov clinches Czech Open 2022 Rapid, Harsha Bharathakoti third

@ 27/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
P Shyam Nikhil clinches 7th Noisiel Open, Vignesh second and Karthik third

@ 20/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Maxime Lagarde triumphs at 20th Sautron Open 2022, Sidhant second and Bala Chandra third

@ 13/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vitaly Sivuk wins 2nd La Plagne Chess Festival 2022 Masters, Iniyan second and Sayantan third

@ 10/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harsha Bharathakoti - The Humble Powerhouse

@ 16/04/2022 by Saishyam Srikanth (en)
Bangladesh Premier League 2022 R1: Harsha Bharathakoti slays the infallible Arjun Erigaisi

@ 11/03/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Deep Sengupta triumphs 18th Vandoeuvre Open 2021

@ 25/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Raceking Harsha Bharathakoti finishes first in Capablanca Chess School 5th Anniversary Online Blitz Open

@ 09/04/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harsha, Vidit, Nihal impressive at World Blitz 2019

@ 01/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Antonio Viani wins double in France

@ 30/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
A heartbreaking miss for Harsha Bharathakoti in Sants International Open

@ 22/09/2019 by Satanick Mukhuty (en)
Gujarat Open 2018 Round 3+4: Harsha Bharathakoti becomes India's 56th GM!

@ 07/10/2018 by Aditya Pai (en)
World Juniors R3+4: Harsha Bharathakoti's magnificient day!

@ 08/09/2018 by Sagar Shah (en)
IM Harsha Bharathakoti wins Kathmandu Open 2018

@ 18/04/2018 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harsha Bharathakoti: A star on the rise

@ 06/11/2017 by Aditya Pai (en)

Contact Us