chessbase india logo

Aeroflot 2019 Round 2: Aravindh tricks his 2681 rated opponent in a pawn endgame

by Sagar Shah - 22/02/2019

The Aeroflot Open 2019 is in its second round and things are already heating up. In the A-group out of 101 players, we only have 6 who are on 100% score with 2.0/2, out of which four are Indians! Sasikiran, Aravindh Chithambaram, S.L. Narayanan and Nihal Sarin are leading the event with 2.0/2, along with Maksim Chigaev and Zhou Jianchao. Indians had an excellent day at the office as Aravindh managed to trick Eltaj Safarli in a pawn endgame, Nihal Sarin beat Indjic, S.L. Narayanan played a crazy game to outplay Alekseenko. Some other upsets were Debashis Das getting the better of David Paravyan and Raunak Sadhwani scoring a win against Srinath Narayanan. We will have a look at all of these games in this report.

Let's begin with the most instructive game of the day!

Aravindh Chithambaram vs Eltaj Safarli, Round 2

Black to play. How would you continue?

Taking the pawn is a natural reaction for any player. However, after ...Kxc6 Kxd4 it is White who will have the opposition because there is a waiting move still left to be played with the g-pawn. That's the reason why it is important to lose the opposition in this position. By that logic you realize that it is not ...Kxc6 but in fact ...Kd6! which is the right move for Black. Now if Aravindh takes the pawn on d4 then Black can capture the pawn on c6 and it is a draw. Of course, after ...Kd6 the battle is not yet over. White can try the tricky Kc4!?. However, even here after ....Kc7!! Black refuses to step on the c6 square before White goes on the d4 square! That's how the game would have ended in a draw. However, Eltaj took the pawn on c6 and after Kxd4, White is just winning! If all of this explanation was a bit complicated to understand, then have a look at the video below:

Sagar Shah explains Aravindh's win over Eltaj Safarli

Nihal Sarin played an excellent game and took full advantage of his opponent's mistake 27...g5 to score the full point against Aleksandar Indjic | Photo: Amruta Mokal

The most exciting game of the day was S.L. Narayanan's win over Kirill Alekseenko. The final position itself shows how exciting the game was! | Photo: Sophie Triay

Alekseenko, who was white, resigned in this position! Two knights and pawns dominate the white queen!

Sasikiran has played two excellent games and is on 2.0/2 | Photo: Amruta Mokal

Raunak Sadhwani beat Srinath Narayanan in the second round with some nimble manoeuvres| Photo: Niki Riga

Debashis Das scored a fine win against David Paravyan after the Russian sacrificed a lot of material and had nothing to show for it. | Photo: Amruta Mokal


Standings after round 2

Rk.SNoNameTypFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2 
111GMSasikiran KrishnanIND26782,010
29GMZhou JianchaoCHN26152,010
30GMChigaev MaksimRUS26132,010
45GMNihal SarinU18IND25782,010
638GMAravindh Chithambaram Vr.IND26012,000
71GMWei YiCHN27331,510
2GMFedoseev VladimirRUS27151,510
3GMWang HaoCHN27141,510
6GMMamedov RaufAZE27031,510
7GMInarkiev ErnestoRUS26921,510
9GMKorobov AntonUKR26871,510
13GMSjugirov SananRUS26631,510
14GMSethuraman S.P.IND26511,510
18GMGanguly Surya ShekharIND26361,510
21GMSarana AlexeyRUS26301,510

Results of round 2 for Indian players:

2438GMAravindh Chithambaram Vr.IND260111 - 01GMSafarli EltajAZE268110
2511GMSasikiran KrishnanIND267811 - 01GMSvane RasmusGER259940
2639GMDonchenko AlexanderGER26001½ - ½1GMGanguly Surya ShekharIND263618
2719GMAlekseenko KirillRUS263410 - 11GMNarayanan.S.LIND259342
2845GMNihal SarinIND257811 - 01GMIndjic AleksandarSRB263020
21287GMHarika DronavalliIND24711½ - ½1GMMartirosyan Haik M.ARM261628
2209GMKorobov AntonUKR2687½1 - 0½GMKarthikeyan MuraliIND256055
22113GMSjugirov SananRUS2663½1 - 0½GMPuranik AbhimanyuIND253865
22266GMStupak KirillBLR2537½0 - 1½GMSethuraman S.P.IND265114
22315GMAnton Guijarro DavidESP2642½½ - ½½GMAryan ChopraIND254063
22684IMIniyan PIND2480½½ - ½½GMKobalia MikhailRUS262722
22723GMParavyan DavidRUS2627½0 - 1½GMDebashis DasIND253267
23549GMNarayanan SrinathIND2572½0 - 1½IMSadhwani RaunakIND244893
23694IMArjun KalyanIND2444½½ - ½½IMYakubboev NodirbekUZB256950
23774IMGukesh DIND250800 - 10GMMaghsoodloo ParhamIRI266612
23937GMGordievsky DmitryRUS260301 - 00GMGagare ShardulIND249578
24047GMVaibhav SuriIND25750½ - ½0GMKarthik VenkataramanIND249479
24386IMDai ChangrenCHN247301 - 00GMLalith Babu M RIND255657
24588IMPrithu GuptaIND24700½ - ½0IMSychev KlementyRUS254561
24668GMPraggnanandhaa RIND253201 - 00IMKevlishvili RobbyNED246389
24870IMLobanov SergeiRUS252601 - 00IMRaja Rithvik RIND244395
24933GMIdani PouyaIRI2604½1 - 0½CMAditya MittalIND245491
25092IMWarmerdam MaxNED245001 - 00GMVishnu Prasanna. VIND252471

Pairings of round 3 for Indian players

3111GMSasikiran KrishnanIND267822GMAravindh Chithambaram Vr.IND260138
3242GMNarayanan.S.LIND259322GMZhou JianchaoCHN261529
3330GMChigaev MaksimRUS261322GMNihal SarinIND257845
31114GMSethuraman S.P.IND2651GMDeac Bogdan-DanielROU260335
31218GMGanguly Surya ShekharIND2636GMTabatabaei M.AminIRI259043
31367GMDebashis DasIND2532GMSarana AlexeyRUS263021
31593IMSadhwani RaunakIND2448GMKhismatullin DenisRUS262125
3184GMDubov DaniilRUS27031GMHarika DronavalliIND247187
3208GMNabaty TamirISR268811GMPraggnanandhaa RIND253268
32563GMAryan ChopraIND254011GMIturrizaga Bonelli EduardoVEN264017
32720GMIndjic AleksandarSRB263011IMIniyan PIND248084
33634GMJumabayev RinatKAZ2604½1IMArjun KalyanIND244494
33779GMKarthik VenkataramanIND2494½½GMParavyan DavidRUS262723
33881IMHenderson De La Fuente LanceESP2490½½GMVaibhav SuriIND257547
33982IMSargsyan ShantARM2488½½GMNarayanan SrinathIND257249
34255GMKarthikeyan MuraliIND2560½½IMPrithu GuptaIND247088
34565GMPuranik AbhimanyuIND2538½½FMSchitco IvanMDA2426100
34676IMSindarov JavokhirUZB250500GMLalith Babu M RIND255657
34778GMGagare ShardulIND249500GMPourramezanali AmirrezaIRI252969
34880IMVokhidov ShamsiddinUZB249400GMVishnu Prasanna. VIND252471
34991CMAditya MittalIND2454½½IMLomasov SemyonRUS255956
35089IMKevlishvili RobbyNED246300IMGukesh DIND250874
35195IMRaja Rithvik RIND244300bye

Contact Us