chessbase india logo

Suvrajit Saha wins All India Rating at Durgapur

by Shahid Ahmed - 03/01/2018

Suvrajit Saha of Railways wins CSIR CMERI Diamond Jubilee All India Open FIDE Rated Chess Tournament convincingly with a score of 7.5 points out of 8 rounds. This was his first tournament win in over a year and first open rating tournament win in a long while. He made a fantastic start by winning all his first seven games and needed just a draw in the last round to become champion. The tournament also witnessed the participation of IM Neeraj Kumar Mishra who scored 7 points and finished at 3rd position. This report contains a game analyzed by the champion and a few photographs from the event by Dr. Himadri Roy.

IM Suvrajit Saha wins CSIR CMERI Diamond Jubilee All India Open FIDE Rated Chess Tournament

Suvrajit Saha receives a trophy and ₹30000 cash for his championship winning performance of 7.5/8 | Photo: Dr. Himadri Roy

Suvrajit Saha of Railways, started his tournament on fast track by winning all his first seven round games. He just needed a draw in the last round as he faced the only player who was trailing by a half point till the penultimate round, Arpan Das. Here is a game annotated by the International Master himself:

Arpan Das scored 7/8 and due to a better tie-break score he was placed 2nd, bagging home a trophy and ₹20000 cash | Photo: Dr. Himadri Roy

Arpan Das started with four straight wins and then he stumbled on the fifth round by drawing against Samar Chatterjee. He won his next two rounds and then drew with the champion in the last round to secure 2nd position.

IM Neeraj Kumar Mishra scored 6.5/8, secured 3rd position and got home a trophy and ₹15000 cash | Photo: Dr. Himadri Roy

IM Neeraj Kumar Mishra, who qualified for National Premier last year, did not have a good start as he drew fourth and fifth round after winning first three games consecutively. Then he made his presence felt, by winning the last three rounds and securing the third position with 7 points as his tie-break score was less than the eventual runner-up of the tournament, Arpan Das.

Podium finishers (L to R): Second runner-up Neeraj Kumar Mishra, Champion Suvrajit Saha and Runner-up (far right) Arpan Das | Photo: Dr. Himadri Roy

Players and accompanied persons in attendance for Prize Distribution Ceremony | Photo: Dr. Himadri Roy

The tournament witnessed 213 players taking part from all across the country. It went on from 29th November to 3rd December 2017 in CSIR-CMERI Staff Club, Durgapur, organized by CSIR-CMERI Silver Jubliee Celebration Committee. There was a total of 91 prizes. Time control of the tournament was 90 mins + 30 seconds increment from move no. 1

Final Ranking after 8 Rounds

Rk.SNoNameTypRtgIPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
13IMSuvrajit Saha22167,50,046,542,0
24Arpan Das21747,00,044,541,5
32IMMishra Neeraj-Kumar22747,00,041,037,5
423Soumma ChakrabortyU1317646,50,043,540,0
510Nath Rupankar20466,50,043,539,5
612Sandip Dey19196,50,042,538,5
75FMDutta Joydeep21366,50,041,538,0
821Rabindra Kumar Ojha18106,50,040,536,5
940Ayush JhaU1316026,50,039,535,5
1018Sanket ChakravartyU1318306,00,045,541,5
111Kaustuv Kundu23296,00,045,040,5
128Chattarjee Laltu20626,00,043,039,0
1314Samar Chatterjee18716,00,042,538,5
1425Arijit Mukherjee17526,00,041,037,5
1541Arunava BhattacharjeeU1315906,00,040,537,5
1630Basak Bishal16926,00,040,036,0
1739Goutam Das16056,00,039,036,0
1826Satya Sekhar Mitra17416,00,038,534,5
1957Krishna Kumar Mishra14676,00,033,030,5
2020Gaurav Das18185,50,044,541,0
216Basak Sajal20825,50,043,038,5
227Bhattacharya Niladri Shekhar20755,50,040,037,0
2349Rahul Krishna ViswanathanU1315655,50,040,036,0
2435Tapan Kumar DeyS6016455,50,039,535,5
2524Swarnava BiswasU1517545,50,039,037,0

Contact Us