chessbase india logo

Ritvik Krishnan dominates Fagernes Blitz II 2024, Prraneeth Vuppala second

by Shahid Ahmed - 31/03/2024

FM Ritvik Krishnan scored an unbeaten 8.5/9 to win Fagernes Blitz II 2024. He finished a whopping 1.5 points ahead of the field. GM Prraneeth Vuppala and IM Ludvig Carlsson (SWE) scored 7/9 each. They were placed second and third. GM Pranav Anand and CM Akshit Kumar J are the only two other Indians to make a top ten finish. They scored 6/9 each to be placed fifth and seventh respectively according to tie-breaks. This is Ritvik's first rating tournament triumph in 2024. For India's 82nd GM Prraneeth, it is his third consecutive podium finish in a Blitz rating tournament of the year. Photo: Anniken Vestby/Fagernes 2024

Prraneeth's third consecutive podium finish in Blitz

FM Ritvik Krishnan scored eight wins in-a-row to gain full point lead 8/8 heading into the final round. GM Prraneeth Vuppala was the sole pursuer at 7/8. Ritvik drew against Evsuld Myagmarsuren (NOR) to become a clear champion. IM Ludvig Carlsson (SWE) defeated Prraneeth to finish third, Prraneeth was placed second. In the GM Open tournament, Kazakhstan no.1 - GM Rinat Jumabayev is in sole lead 6.5/8. He is closely followed by five players including two Indians - GM Krishnan Sasikiran and GM Abhimanyu Puranik at 6/8 each. Rinat will face Sasikiran in the final round. Abhimanyu will be up against GM Frode Olav Olsen Urkedal (NOR).

Top 3 (L to R) - 3rd IM Ludvig Carlsson (SWE) 7/9, 1st FM Ritvik Krishnan 8.5/9 and 2nd GM Prraneeth Vuppala 7/9 | Photo: Anniken Vestby

FM Ritvik Krishnan en route his second round victory over Martin Holten Fiskaaen (NOR) | Photo: Tom Eriksen

FM Ritvik Krishnan scored an unbeaten 8.5/9 and finished a staggering 1.5 points ahead of the competition

The tournament hall at Hotel Scandic Valdres in Fagernes, Norway | Photo: Tom Eriksen

A total of 38 players including 2 GMs, 3 IMs and a WIM took part from various countries across the world at Fagernes Blitz II. The tournament was organized by IO IA Hans Olav Lahlum in cooperation with Sotra Sjakklubb on 30th March 2024 at Scandic Valdres hotel in Fagernes, Norway. The nine-round Swiss league tournament had a time control of 3 minutes + 2 seconds increment from move no. 1.

Final standings



Official site

Tournament regulations

Related news:
Rinat Jumabayev wins Fagernes GM 2024, Abhimanyu Puranik second

@ 01/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us