chessbase india logo

Rahul Gurung wins 21st Northeast Rating Championship 2023

by Shahid Ahmed - 08/11/2023

Rahul Gurung, Soram Rahul Singh and Mrinmoy Rajkhowa scored 8/9 each at 21st Northeast Rating Chess Championship 2023. Rahul won the tournament due to better tie-breaks. Soram and Mrinmoy secured second and third place respectively. All three of them remained undefeated. Only Mrinmoy was the closest to beat the eventual champion, Rahul in the penultimate eighth round. However, he decided to repeat moves and make a draw in a completely winning rook endgame. The total prize fund was ₹500000. The top three prizes were ₹100000, ₹70000 and ₹50000 along with a trophy and certificate each. This was Rahul's first tournament triumph of the year and third overall Northeast championship of his career. Photos: Tamchi Kache/AAPCA

Rahul becomes Northeast champion for the third time

Six players - Rahul Gurung, Abhrojyoti Nath, Mrinmoy Rajkhowa, Soram Rahul Singh, Madhab Sarma and Iftikar Alom Mazumdar were in the lead 7/8, going into the final round. Rahul defeated Madhab, Soram got the better of Iftikar and Abhrojyoti lost to Mrinmoy. Thus, Rahul won the tournament, Soram second and Mrinmoy third.

Champion - Rahul Gurung (Sikkim) 8/9

Runner-up - Soram Rahul Singh (Assam) 8/9

Second Runner-up - Mrinmoy Rajkhowa (Assam) 8/9

Rahul Gurung scored an unbeaten 8/9 and gained 3.4 Elo rating points

A total of 344 players took part from various places of the Northeast region of India in this seven-day nine round Rating tournament. It was organized by All Arunachal Pradesh Chess Association at Dree Ground in Itanagar, Arunachal Pradesh from 21st to 27th October 2023. The time control of the event was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment per move.

Replay all available games

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
12Gurung RahulIND2027Sikkim852,555,548,00
210Singh Soram RahulIND1823Assam8515449,00
320Mrinmoy RajkhowaU15IND1710Assam850,552,545,50
423Cheniram PeguIND1696Assam7,549,553,542,50
57Abhash Roimya SaikiaU15IND1884Assam754,557,543,00
611Gurung RohitIND1803Sikkim754,557,542,50
79Tanmay RajbongshiU15IND1854Assam751,554,539,50
824Neelabh Jyoti BorthakurIND1694Assam7515338,00
915Rajdip DasIND1768Assam7505541,75
1022Abhrojyoty NathU15IND1696Assam749,553,538,50
1140Dhruv PhukanU19IND1589Assam748,551,534,75
124Singh Y. DhanabirIND2004Manipur7485036,25
1329Iftikar Alom MazumdarIND1673Assam74751,539,00
143Utpal BaruahIND2006Assam7475137,75
1534Lalbiak MawiaIND1626Mizoram74650,537,75
1621Madhab SarmaIND1701Assam745,54935,25
1738Khangembam PremchandraIND1601Manipur745,548,535,25
1956Rituraj TamuliIND1510Assam741,54333,00
2017Rintu BrahmaIND1724Assam6,551,55234,25


Contact Us