chessbase india logo

Mitrabha Guha wins the first-ever Dynamo Chess Tournament

by Shahid Ahmed - 31/05/2022

GM Mitrabha Guha defeated GM Dibyendu Barua in the Final to win the first-ever Dynamo Chess Tournament. Mitrabha saw the Dynamo Chess for the very first on the same day after appearing for three papers of his college exams. 16 players were invited to participate and experience this new chess variant first hand. Total prize fund was ₹10300. Top three prizes were ₹5100, ₹3100 and ₹2100 along with a trophy each. The prizes were named 'Genius Award' by the inventor of Dynamo Chess, Mr. Pradeep Sadani who also witnessed and enjoyed the exciting games. The tournament featured various current and former State, National and International champions and Gold medalists. Photo: Shahid Ahmed

16 invited players experience Dynamo Chess

India's 72nd GM Mitrabha Guha won all his games to win the first-ever Dynamo Chess Tournament. It was played in Knockout format due to time constraints. Mitrabha defeated Shounak Mazumder in the Round of 16. Then he defeated Utsab Chatterjee in the Quarterfinals. He beat his toughest challenge of the event, Kaustuv Kundu in the Semifinals. In the Finals, he beat GM Dibyendu Barua who is also one of the first coaches of Mitrabha and the person who shaped Dynamo Chess to what it is today. IA Asit Baran Choudhury was the Chief Arbiter of the event to ensure this event in future get recognized in the history books.

GM Mitrabha Guha is the champion of first-ever Dynamo Chess Tournament | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

L to R: IA Asit Baran Choudhury, GM Dibyendu Barua, GM Mitrabha Guha and Realtor Mr. Pradeep Sadani.

GM Mitrabha Guha wins the first-ever Dynamo Chess tournament | Video: ChessBase India

Runner-up - GM Dibyendu Barua | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Arpan Das won against Kaustuv Kundu to claim third place, thus Kaustuv finished fourth. However, Mr. Barua decided to give his trophy and prize to the next finisher Arpan Das and thus Kaustuv received the third prize trophy and the cash.

Second Runner-up - Arpan Das | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

4th Kaustuv Kundu | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

The 16-players at the inauguration ceremony of 1st Dynamo Chess Tournament | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

L to R: Vishal Didwania, Ritabrata Chakraborty, IM Neelash Saha, Samriddhaa Ghosh, Utsab Chatterjee, GM Deep Sengupta, GM Mitrabha Guha, GM Dibyendu Barua, Kaustuv Kundu, Shounak Mazumder, Praloy Sahoo, Sumit Roy, Arindam Mukherjee and Chief Arbiter IA Asit Baran Choudhury.

Sitting - WIM Arpita Mukherjee (left) and Mrittika Mallick.

Inauguration Ceremony of 1st Dynamo Chess Tournament 2022 | Video: Dynamo Chess

The innovator of Dynamo Chess, Mr. Pradeep Sadani (right) plays a friendly game with GM Deep Sengupta | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Before the tournament began, players were playing some practice matches. Out of them, the most exciting game turned out to be GM Deep Sengupta vs IM Neelash Saha. Unfortunately it did not take place during the tournament.

One of the most exciting Dynamo Chess battles - GM Deep Sengupta vs IM Neelash Saha | Photo: Shahid Ahmed
Dynamo or three minor pieces, which is stronger? Dynamo Chess Friendly Blitz | GM Deep vs IM Neelash | Video: ChessBase India

Round of 16

16 players were invited for the inaugural Dynamo Chess tournament. Due to time constraints, the event had to be a Knockout tournament so that players can travel and prepare for their next upcoming events. The Round of 16 or Pre Quarterfinals witnessed only one major upset - WIM Arpita Mukherjee got eliminated by Arpan Das. The round also had the first ever draw in Dynamo Chess at a tournament. Samriddhaa Ghosh held IM Neelash Saha to a draw. As per the tournament rules, Armageddon was enforced. IM Neelash Saha won Armageddon and advanced to the Quarterfinals.

Round of 16/Pre Quarterfinals Starting moments | Video: Dynamo Chess


Ritabrata Chakraborty - GM Deep Sengupta : 0-1

Arindam Mukherjee - GM Dibyendu Barua: 0-1

WIM Arpita Mukherjee - Arpan Das: 0-1

IM Neelash Saha - Samriddhaa Ghosh: 1.5-0.5 (Neelash won Armageddon)

Mrittika Mallick - Sumit Roy: 1-0

Praloy Sahoo - Kaustuv Kundu: 0-1

Vishal Didwania - Utsab Chatterjee: 0-1

GM Mitrabha Guha - Shounak Mazumder: 1-0

Final moments: Double Rook Knight vs Queen Rook Endgame | IM Neelash vs Samriddhaa | Round of 16 | Video: Dynamo Chess
Toss for the first-ever Armageddon in 1st Dynamo Chess Tournament | Video: Dynamo Chess
Full game: Samriddhaa Ghosh vs IM Neelash Saha | Round of 16 Armageddon | Video: Dynamo Chess
Dynamo Chess awakens the inner chess player in Vishal Didwania after years | Video: ChessBase India


Quarterfinals witnessed the clash of two out of three GMs - Dibyendu Barua vs Deep Sengupta. Reigning National (Under-14) Girls champion and National Sub-Junior (Under-16) Girls runner-up, Mrittika Mallick held Kaustuv Kundu to a draw. This was the second draw of the event. Thus, Armageddon had to be enforced which was won by Kaustuv Kundu.

Starting moments of Quarterfinals | Video: Dynamo Chess


GM Dibyendu Barua - GM Deep Sengupta: 1-0

IM Neelash Saha - Arpan Das: 0-1

Mrittika Mallick - Kaustuv Kundu: 0.5-1.5 (Kaustuv won Armageddon)

Utsab Chatterjee - GM Mitrabha Guha: 0-1

Queen Blunder ends the game | Quarterfinal: GM Dibyendu Barua vs GM Deep Sengupta | Video: Dynamo Chess
Does Conventional Rook and Pawn theory work in Dynamo Chess? | Mrittika Mallick vs Kaustuv Kundu | Video: Dynamo Chess
Full game: Mrittika Mallick vs Kaustuv Kundu | Quarterfinals Armageddon | Video: Dynamo Chess


GM Mitrabha Guha faced Kaustuv Kundu and GM Dibyendu Barua was up against Arpan Das.



GM Dibyendu Barua - Arpan Das: 1-0

GM Mitrabha Guha - Kaustuv Kundu: 1-0

Semifinal: GM Mitrabha Guha vs Kaustuv Kundu | Video: Dynamo Chess
Can Arpan Das' attack overwhelm GM Dibyendu Barua? | Semifinal | Video: Dynamo Chess

Final and 3rd-4th place

GM Mitrabha Guha and GM Dibyendu Barua advanced to the Finals which means Kaustuv Kundu and Arpan Das faced each other in a 3rd-4th place match. Fun fact (Not so fun for Kaustuv): He got only black pieces in draw of colors in all five games.



GM Mitrabha Guha - GM Dibyendu Barua: 1-0

Arpan Das - Kaustuv Kundu: 1-0

GM Mitrabha Guha vs GM Dibyendu Barua | 1st Dynamo Chess Tournament Final | Video: Dynamo Chess
When close friends battle for the 3rd-4th place | Arpan Das vs Kaustuv Kundu | Video: Dynamo Chess
The Living Legend - GM Dibyendu Barua talks about Dynamo Chess and its future | Video: Dynamo Chess

For more photos, please click here.

Queen and the combination of both Dynamos is absolutely deadly | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

For more patterns, check out our previous article.


Dynamo Chess - facebook, twitter, instagram and youtube


If you have any suggestion/feedback about Dynamo Chess or wish to develop a site/app where Dynamo Chess can be played, feel free to write here: dynamochess2020atgmaildotcom (Replace 'at' with '@' and dot with '.').

Related news:
Dynamo Chess is back!

@ 19/05/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)