chessbase india logo

MPL 34th National U-14 R1-2: Khushi Kaushal stuns third seed Yashita Rout

by Shahid Ahmed - 10/05/2022

56th seeded Khushi Kaushal (HAR, 1213) scored the biggest upset of Round 1 in MPL 34th National Under-14 Girls Chess Championship 2022. The Haryana girl defeated third seeded Yashita Rout (ODI, 1718). The higher rated Yashita allowed her opponent to have a deadly passed pawn in the endgame. Athira A J (KER, 1217) ensured her opponent Sachi Jain (DEL, 1768) earn her full point in an interesting queen and bishop ending. CM Om Manish Kadam (MAH) and Mrittika Mallick (WB) are the top seeds in Open and Girls section respectively. They won both of their games comfortably. Round 3 starts today at 9:30 a.m. IST. Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Only decisive games at the top

The Open section witnessed only one draw among top ten boards combining both rounds. The Girls section had three draws in total on the first day. The no-draw before the completion of 30 moves is certainly a good rule which was enforced to have fighting games in all rounds.

Khushi Kaushal (HAR) scored the biggest upset of Round 1| Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Girls Round 1: Yashita - Khushi: 0-1

Yashita Rout (ODI, 1718) was better for the majority of the game against Khushi Kaushal (HAR, 1213). However, a strange knight retreat allowing her opponent to have a deadly passed pawn cost her the game.

Position after 37.Ne3

A simple recapture 37.axb3 would have sufficed. White would not have been any kind of danger. 37...Bc2 would not have caused a concern as 38.Rd2 keeps the b3-pawn tactically defended. 38...Bxb3 runs into 39.Nb4. However, 37.Ne3 invited trouble bxa2 38.Nxf5 Rb1 and it's over for White.

Athira - Sachi: 0-1

Athira A J (KER, 1217) had a difficult opportunity to save the game against Sachi Jain (DEL, 1768).

Position after 47...Kg5

Black is threatening pawn promotion at e1 in one move, yet White can still save the game. Find out how. The game continued 48.Qe7+ and king made its way to its safe haven at f1.

The heat signature of the black king, Position after 52...Kf1

The king made its way all the way from h8 to f1 in nine moves to find a shelter and make e1 threat unstoppable.

Athira ensured Sachi earn her full point in the very first round | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Photo Gallery

MPL 34th National Under-10 Girls second runner-up and National Amateur for Women Below 1700 runner-up Hanya Shah (GUJ) inaugurated the tournament | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Top seed in the Open section - CM Om Manish Kadam (MAH) 2.0/2 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Top seed in the Girls - Mrittika Mallick (WB) 2.0/2| Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

The tournament hall at Rajpath Club | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

For more Inauguration Ceremony, Round 1 and Round 2 photos, please click at the respective links.

Video Gallery

Why was the Chief Arbiter called? | Video: ChessBase India
I want to get my Candidate Master Title in this tournament - Sahib Singh | Video: ChessBase India
Final moments: Haridev S vs Maaz Iqubal, Round 1 | Video: ChessBase India
Double Bishops are stronger than a Rook in the endgame | Agnivo vs Ilamparthi, Round 2 | Video: ChessBase India
MPL 34th National Under-14 Open and Girls Chess Championship 2022 Venue tour - Rajpath Club | Video: ChessBase India

A total of 214 players in the Open and 107 players in the Girls tournament are taking part. It is organized by Gujarat State Chess Association. Both tournaments are taking place at Rajpath Club, Ahmedabad, Gujarat from 9th to 14th May 2022. The eleven-round Swiss league tournament has a time control of 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Replay Open Round 1-2 games

Replay Girls Round 1-2 games

Open Round 2 results

164Raihaan Zahid1457Karnataka10 - 11CMKadam Om Manish2144Maharashtra1
22AIMMd Imran2122Andhra Pradesh11 - 01Yashwant B1440Tamil Nadu66
367Agnivo Chakraborty1434West Bengal10 - 11Ilamparthi A R2121Tamil Nadu3
44CMDaakshin Arun2016Tamil Nadu11 - 01Dev Raj1432Bihar68
570Vandan Alankar Sawai1428Delhi10 - 11CMMayank Chakraborty2015Assam5
66Shaik Sumer Arsh1999Telangana11 - 01Vibhakar Venkatakrishnan1422Tamil Nadu72
773Ashvath Mittal1419Delhi10 - 11AGMSahib Singh1991Delhi7
88Ankit Ray1932West Bengal11 - 01Shaun Deon Sequeira1418Karnataka74
975Atharva Kale1413Karnataka10 - 11Bharadia Yash1924Rajasthan9
1010Chidvilash Sai Surapaneni1912Telangana1½ - ½1Nimay Agrawal1396Haryana76


Round 3 pairings

11CMKadam Om Manish2144Maharashtra22Jihan Tejas Shah1741Gujarat25
229Aswath S1694Tamil Nadu22AIMMd Imran2122Andhra Pradesh2
33Ilamparthi A R2121Tamil Nadu22Arshpreet Singh1564Haryana38
433Sathvik Adiga1607Karnataka22CMDaakshin Arun2016Tamil Nadu4
55CMMayank Chakraborty2015Assam22Snehil Raj Singh1545West Bengal42
647Karthik N1516Andhra Pradesh22Shaik Sumer Arsh1999Telangana6
77AGMSahib Singh1991Delhi22Sushanth Kamabathula1536Telangana44
849Gadhavi Veerbhadrasinh1507Gujarat22Ankit Ray1932West Bengal8
99Bharadia Yash1924Rajasthan22Jaidambareesh N R1521Tamil Nadu46
1011Koustuv Dash1910Odisha22Aayush Bhojak1494Rajasthan50


Girls Round 2 results

134Ananya Raman1305Tamil Nadu10 - 11Mrittika Mallick1982West Bengal1
22Sachi Jain1768Delhi11 - 01Krishika Garg1318Delhi33
34Anupam M Sreekumar1673Kerala11 - 01Shivani Senthilkumar1303Tamil Nadu35
436Siyona Judith C1300Tamil Nadu10 - 11AFMShubhi Gupta1613Uttar Pradesh5
56Pragnya H G1605Tamil Nadu1½ - ½1ACMNivedita V C1296Tamil Nadu37
638Arushi Srichandan1292Odisha11 - 01Rajanya Datta1589West Bengal7
78Dakshita Kumawat1575Rajasthan1½ - ½1Lakshanaa R1290Tamil Nadu39
810Sneha Halder1557West Bengal11 - 01Olivia Biswas1288West Bengal41
912Charvi Patidar1501Rajasthan11 - 01Adiba Ullah1267Bihar42
1044Aditi Raj1261Jharkhand10 - 11Arshiya Das1456Tripura13


Round 3 pairings

11Mrittika Mallick1982West Bengal22AFMSanikommu Manasvi1399Karnataka20
219Anahita Verma1407Punjab22Sachi Jain1768Delhi2
324Bhat Sannidhi Ramakrishna1373Maharashtra22Anupam M Sreekumar1673Kerala4
45AFMShubhi Gupta1613Uttar Pradesh22WCMShriyana S Mallya1353Karnataka26
527Tejasvee Naresh Singh1351Rajasthan22Sneha Halder1557West Bengal10
628Falak Joni Naik1349Gujarat22Charvi Patidar1501Rajasthan12
713Arshiya Das1456Tripura22Arushi Srichandan1292Odisha38
831WCMShefali A N1322Karnataka22Aswinika Mani R1408Tamil Nadu18
99Roy Aanya1560Maharashtra2Riddhika Kotia1238Haryana50
1039Lakshanaa R1290Tamil NaduPragnya H G1605Tamil Nadu6


Contact Us