chessbase india logo

Register for the Late RB Sapre Memorial Chess tournament with a Rs. 1,00,000 prize fund!

by Himank Ghosh - 02/02/2024

RB Sapre is an iconic figure in India's chess history. He is India's first National Champion - Sapre won the first edition of the event held in 1955! His analytical ability was so great that he was invited to the Botvinnik-Smyslov match in Russia in 1954! Celebrating the legacy of this great man, the Late R.B. Sapre Memorial 10th Rapid and Blitz Chess tournament is being organized on 3rd and 4th February in Ratnagiri, Maharashtra! The tournament starts tomorrow - find all the information in the article below, and REGISTER NOW:

Late R. B. Sapre Memorial 10th rapid & Blitz Chess Tournament 2024 starts tomorrow, 3rd February with a Rs. 1,00,000 prize fund!

KGN Saraswati Foundation is organizing an Rapid and Blitz tournament in the memory of late RB Sapre, one of the stalwarts of Indian Chess whose legacy continues today. The tournament will be held from 3rd-4th February at Rani Lakshmibai Sabhagruh, Shere Naka Ratnagiri, Maharashtra! The total prize fund of the tournament is Rs. 1,00,000. The event is technically supported by Chessmen Ratnagiri, under the aegis of the Ratnagiri District Chess Association.

Register for the tournament now

Only a maximum of 150 entries will be accepted, so hurry up and register now!

About the great R.B. Sapre

Ramchandra Bhargava Sapre was born on 4th March 1915 in Akola where his father, a chess lover, was a Civil Judge. After the death of his father in 1919, 4-years old Sapre was brought up in Malgund by his maternal grandfather Balakrishna Laxman Antarkar, a Sanskrit Scholar who was also good at chess. From 1949-1956, he was the Bombay Chess Champion, and won the Maharashtra State Chess Championship 4 times! He won India's first National Chess Championship in 1955, also winning the titles in 1956 and 1976. He was the guest of the USSR Government to witness the Botvinnik -  Smyslov World Championship Match at Moscow in 1954!

Some insights into the illustrious career of the late R.B. Sapre

System of play and regulations

The time control for the Rapid tournament will be 15 minutes + 10 second increment starting from move one. For the Blitz tournament, it will be 3 minutes + 2 second increment starting from move one. There will be 8 rounds of Rapid Chess and Blitz Chess played in the swiss system. 6 rounds of Rapid will be played in the first day (3rd February), followed by 2 Rapid rounds the next day (4th February), and 8 rounds of Blitz.

Find all the details regarding the rules and regulations of the tournament here.

Entry fee and Prize structure

The prize fund for the Rapid tournament is Rs. 75,000, and Rs. 25,000 for the Blitz tournament - making it a Grand total of Rs. 1,00,000. The entry fee for the tournament (if you participate in both Rapid and Blitz tournaments) is Rs. 500. If you choose to participate only in the Rapid tournament, it's Rs. 400, and Rs. 200 for the Blitz tournament individually. 

The complete prize structure of the event. The winner of the Rapid tournament will take home Rs. 11,000 and a beautiful trophy, whereas the Blitz tournament champion will win Rs. 2500 with the trophy!

How to register for the tournament?

You can register for the tournament by paying the entry fee in Razorpay - the payment link is provided below:

Register for the tournament now

This is what the tournament registration page looks like. Just enter the required details and make the payment, and your entry will be confirmed.

There are a total of 75 players registered till now. You can check the players list so far in Chess-results below:

1Lad, Mandar Pradip25747630IND2017Goa
2AGMKiran, Panditrao5001382IND1692Pune
3Nikam, Ravindra5029759IND1602Kolhapur
4Kulkarni, Pradip S35069110IND1590Goa
5Kabnurakar, Rushikesh33434247IND1566Kolhapur
6Naravankar, Milind25052365IND1547Ratnagiri
7Anant, S Gokhale25052160IND1520Ratnagiri
8Bhagwat, Rohit35099566IND1483Pune
9Pawar, Rahul35033050IND1459Thane
10Saurish, Kashelkar33334277IND1445Ratnagiri
11Sawardekar, Pravin5041830IND1435Ratnagiri
12Vivek, Gajanan Joshi25097601IND1434Ratnagiri
13Chaitanya, V Gaonkar48708607IND1415U15Goa
14Devasthali, Madhav5029570IND1388Kolhapur
15Kamtekar, Suhas Atmaram5083362IND1364Ratnagiri
16Gogate, Yash46637885IND1302Ratnagiri
17Wasave, Govardhan5044022IND1292Raigad
18Ariena, Amit Modi25187260IND1232wU13Kolhapur
19AIMGolatkar, Aditya25612840IND1228Mumbai City

Check out the full list

Register for the Late R.B. Sapre Memorial Chess tournament now


Contact Us