chessbase india logo

GM Iniyan will start as the top Indian in 1st FIDE World University Online Individual Blitz

by Shahid Ahmed - 12/03/2021

A total of 1002 players from 73 nations will be taking part in 1st FIDE World University Online Championships in Individual Blitz event on 13th and 14th March 2021. The sole Indian GM taking part in this event will be Iniyan P representing Bharathiar University. He is also the lone participant representing his university. Four IMs and two WIMs from India will be taking part in this event. Ten rounds will be played each day with a time control of 3 mins + 2 seconds increment. 272 players are in reserve for this event. Top four universities will advance to the FIDE World University Team Online Blitz Cup. Photo: Niklesh Jain

161 Indian players from over 25 universities will take part

India's 61st GM Iniyan P of Bharathiar University will lead the Indian charge at 1st FIDE World University Online Championships in Individual Blitz event. IM Harshit Raja of University of Missouri, IM Mitrabha Guha of Maulana Abul Kalam Azad University, IM Neelash Saha of Adamas University and IM Srijit Paul are the other titled players of India who will be taking part tomorrow Saturday 13th March and on Sunday 14th March. Among the women, WIM Isha Sharma of Mangalore University and WIM Arpita Mukherjee of Adamas University are the only two titled players among women.

GM Iniyan P of Bharathiar University is the highest rated Indian in Blitz | Photo: Niklesh Jain

IM Harshit Raja of University of Missouri | Photo: Niki Riga

IM Mitrabha Guha of Maulana Abul Kalam Azad University | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

IM Neelash Sahah of Adamas University | Photo: Niklesh Jain

IM Srijit Paul of Jadavpur University | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

WIM Isha Sharma of Mangalore University

WIM Arpita Mukherjee of Adamas University | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Starting list of Indian players

24GMIniyan P25002767IND2506Bharathiar UniversityBlitz
39IMRaja Harshit5089000IND2472University of MissouriBlitz
48IMMitrabha Guha5057000IND2445Maulana Abul Kalam Azad UniversityBlitz
56IMNeelash Saha5094160IND2413Adamas UniversityBlitz
89IMSrijit Paul5094798IND2312Jadavpur UniversityBlitz
95Subhayan Kundu5094801IND2305Adamas UniversityBlitz
96Saurabh Anand5094496IND2304Adamas UniversityBlitz
98Kaustuv Kundu5056900IND2301Jadavpur UniversityBlitz
110WIMSharma Isha35006665IND2256Mangalore UniversityBlitz
139WIMArpita Mukherjee5056403IND2206Adamas UniversityBlitz
196Mehta Jwalin25047191IND2086Birla Institute of Technology and SBlitz
243Sharan Rao5073464IND1992Mangalore UniversityBlitz
259Debankan Dhara5056586IND1950Jadavpur UniversityBlitz
261Pattnayak Nilsu35043943IND1948Kalinga Institute of Industrial TecBlitz
266AGMArka Sengupta25031201IND1937Jadavpur UniversityBlitz
275Ganguly Ritabroto25028529IND1930Jadavpur UniversityBlitz
277Atharvaa P Tayade25042955IND1926Indian Institute of Technology, BomBlitz
282Ghosh Samriddhaa5094003IND1910Adamas UniversityBlitz
283Arun R U46673709IND1908Anna UniversityBlitz
285Rajaryan Kuvelkar5096235IND1905Indian Institute of Technology, BomBlitz
288Varma Shabdhik5067430IND1899Mangalore UniversityBlitz
305Sunyuktha C M N5092710IND1867Anna UniversityBlitz
308Poras Sanjay Kolgane5028426IND1858Indian Institute of Technology, BomBlitz
321Aneek Das25076930IND1838Jadavpur UniversityBlitz
337Shashwat Chakraborty25081772IND1820Indian Institute of Technology, BomBlitz



GM Vladimir Fedoseev of University of Texas Rio Grande Valley is the top seed | Photo: Niklesh Jain

IM Polina Shuvalova of Ural State Mining University will be a strong contender for the Women's trophy


Saturday 13th March

Round 1 - 7:30 p.m.

Round 2 - 7:50 p.m.

Round 3 - 8:10 p.m.

Round 4 - 8:30 p.m.

Round 5 - 8:50 p.m.


Round 6 - 9:30 p.m.

Round 7 - 9:50 p.m.

Round 8 - 10:10 p.m.

Round 9 - 10:30 p.m.

Round 10 - 10:50 p.m.


Sunday 14th March

Round 11 - 7:30 p.m.

Round 12 - 7:50 p.m.

Round 13 - 8:10 p.m.

Round 14 - 8:30 p.m.

Round 15 - 8:50 p.m.


Round 16 - 9:30 p.m.

Round 17 - 9:50 p.m.

Round 18 - 10:10 p.m.

Round 19 - 10:30 p.m.

Round 20 - 10:50 p.m.

Time control

3 mins + 2 seconds increment from move no.1

Players list

1GMFedoseev Vladimir24130737RUS2687Pl1University of Texas Rio Grande Vall
2GMOparin Grigoriy24125890RUS2652Pl1University of Missouri
3GMSarana Alexey24133795RUS2649Pl1Ural State Mining University
4GMParavyan David4194985RUS2647Pl2Ural State Mining University
5GMBok Benjamin1017063NED2624Pl1Saint Louis University
6GMMartirosyan Haik M.13306553ARM2622Pl1Armenian State Institute of Physica
7GMBai Jinshi8602280CHN2618Pl1Shanghai University of Finance and
8GMAntipov Mikhail Al.4107012RUS2609Pl2University of Missouri
9GMShevchenko Kirill14129574UKR2599Pl1Ivan Boberskyj Lviv State Universit
10GMAlbornoz Cabrera Carlos Daniel3518736CUB2573Pl1Universidad de Camaguey Ignacio Agr
11GMDragun Kamil1134167POL2557Pl2University of Texas Rio Grande Vall
12GMGabuzyan Hovhannes13303732ARM2557Pl3University of Texas Rio Grande Vall
13GMXu Yinglun8604940CHN2554Pl2Shanghai University of Finance and
14IMTheodorou Nikolas4262875GRE2554Pl2Saint Louis University
15GMAli Marandi Cemil Can6300529TUR2543Pl3Saint Louis University
16GMLi Ruifeng2061074USA2541Pl1University of Texas at Austin
17GMChandra Akshat25006711USA2536Pl4Saint Louis University
18GMVokhidov Shamsiddin14204223UZB2529Pl1Uzbek State University of Physical
19IMVazquez Guillermo3702308PAR2527Pl1University of Texas at Dallas
20FMSorokin Aleksey24176460RUS2521Pl1Texas Tech University
21GMKelires Andreas5900727GRE2520Pl1National Technical University of At
22IMLobanov Sergei24183750RUS2516Pl3Ural State Mining University
23IMMatviishen Viktor14129850UKR2512Pl2Texas Tech University
24GMIniyan P25002767IND2506Pl1Bharathiar University
25GMPriasmoro Novendra7105029INA2502Pl1Gunadarma University




Official site


Technical Meeting

Tornelo Presentation

Contact Us