chessbase india logo

Chennai 2018 Round 9: Can Timur Gareyev stop Ivan Rozum?

by Sagar Shah - 24/01/2018

Ivan Rozum is on fire at the 10th Chennai International 2018. He beat GM R.R. Laxman and moved to the sole lead and is ahead of the entire field by one full point! It seems as if the Russian will win this event. But things are not so simple. First of all, he has the black pieces against top seed Timur Gareyev and secondly his tiebreak is not so great. In the ninth round there were quite a few draws on top ten boards, but there were a few upsets with Marcos Llaneza getting the better of Adam Horvath and Sidhant Mohapatra beating GM Tran Tuan Minh. Report from Chennai.

Ivan Rozum 8.0/9 has one point lead over the field

Round 9 began with AICF Secretary Bharat Singh Chauhan and FIDE Vice President D.V. Sundar visiting the playing hall

Ivan Rozum arrived to the round a few minutes late. He and Laxman were the joint leaders of the tournament with 7.0/8. It was clear that the one who would win this, would have the best chance to become the Champion.

Rozum gets ready for the battle

It was surprising to see Laxman who usually plays pretty fast take a lot of time after the move Nf3 Nf6 g3 were played. And then he went for the Grunfeld setup which is not a part of his usual repertoire!

Rozum played a very nice game with the white pieces and scored a full point. Perhaps, he could have been more accurate at some points, but in general he never really let the advantage slip and Laxman didn't find the best defensive resources:

With this win, Rozum extended his lead to a full point over the field. All he needs to do is just draw his final round game. But he faces the top seed of the event Timur Gareyev with the black pieces. This is not going to be an easy game for the Russian. Also, his first tiebreak (buchholz) is not the best. So he cannot afford to lose.

Marat Dzuhmaev got a completely winning position out of the opening against Visakh N.R. but wasn't able to convert it into a win. It is interesting to see such trends where Indian youngsters are defending tough positions against International GMs. It used to be the other way around before!

Undefeated and playing super solid chess is Arjun Erigaisi who drew against Yuri Solodovnichenko

After two losses in rounds five and six, Timur Gareyev has struck back and won three rounds in a row. He is on 7.0/9 and a chance to decide the tournament. Here's his game against Attila Czebe:

S.Nitin held his own against Adam Tukhaev in the Najdorf

Deepan Chakkravarthy came to the board with a new hairstyle and some interesting opening choices. He drew his game against GM Vitaly Sivuk

Al Muthaiah (white) was in a must-win scenario to score his IM norm. But Karthik Venkatraman gave him no chances. Black won.

Tiviakov showed his class to completely outplay IM Ravi Hegde

Suat Atalik came to the board with some inspiring ideas, but Raghunandan responded well and the game was drawn

IM Marcos Llaneza won his game against GM Adam Horvath

In a position that was completely winning for white Saptarshi Roy Chowdhury agreed to a draw against GM Roeland Pruijssers

Siddhant Mohapatra was able to beat GM Tran Tuan Minh after the latter blundered big time in the opening:

....g6 is a bad move by Tran Tuan Minh. Do you see how White can take advantage of it?

Results of round 9:

Bo.No. NameRtgPts.ResultPts.NameRtg No.
12GMRozum Ivan259571 - 07GMLaxman R.R.243419
217IMVisakh N R2457½ - ½GMDzhumaev Marat243418
325FMErigaisi Arjun2386½ - ½6GMSolodovnichenko Yuri25714
416GMCzebe Attila245860 - 16GMGareyev Timur26051
55GMTukhaev Adam25706½ - ½6IMNitin S.242220
66GMSivuk Vitaly25506½ - ½6GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.247514
726IMSidhant Mohapatra238261 - 06GMTran Tuan Minh25487
88GMAtalik Suat25386½ - ½6IMRaghunandan Kaumandur Srihari240223
931GMRoy Chowdhury Saptarshi23186½ - ½6GMPruijssers Roeland25369
1012GMHorvath Adam248460 - 16IMLlaneza Vega Marcos242121
1134Muthaiah Al229160 - 16FMKarthik Venkataraman247613
123GMTiviakov Sergei25841 - 06IMHegde Ravi Gopal210569
1338Pranav V22750 - 1IMKarthikeyan P.249710
1468Harshavardhan G B21070 - 1GMNguyen Duc Hoa249011
1593CMBharath Subramaniyam H19980 - 1IMKhusenkhojaev Muhammad246215
1622Arjun Kalyan2407½ - ½Ram S. Krishnan222344
1724IMAmeir Moheb2394½ - ½CMKushagra Mohan215059
1827IMRathnakaran K.23721 - 0Nguyen Phuoc Tam206879
1930Saravana Krishnan P.23230 - 1Dixit Nikhil213964
2033IMKandil Adham2294½ - ½Barath Kalyan M202288

Rank after round 9:

Rk.SNo NamesexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
12GMRozum IvanRUS2595RUS8,00,046,549,044,757,0
213FMKarthik VenkataramanIND2476AP7,00,052,557,042,256,0
319GMLaxman R.R.IND2434ICF7,00,049,053,038,506,0
417IMVisakh N RIND2457TN7,00,048,051,538,755,0
51GMGareyev TimurUSA2605USA7,00,047,552,539,007,0
618GMDzhumaev MaratUZB2434UZB7,00,046,551,039,256,0
726IMSidhant MohapatraIND2382ODI7,00,046,551,038,756,0
825FMErigaisi ArjunIND2386TEL7,00,046,550,539,005,0
921IMLlaneza Vega MarcosESP2421ESP7,00,046,550,036,756,0
105GMTukhaev AdamUKR2570UKR6,50,051,556,038,005,0
1114GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.IND2475ICF6,50,051,055,038,005,0
1264Dixit NikhilIND2139MAH6,50,049,554,035,756,0
133GMTiviakov SergeiNED2584NED6,50,048,553,536,755,0
149GMPruijssers RoelandNED2536NED6,50,048,052,536,504,0
156GMSivuk VitalyUKR2550UKR6,50,047,051,535,255,0
1627IMRathnakaran K.IND2372KER6,50,046,050,535,255,0
174GMSolodovnichenko YuriUKR2571UKR6,50,045,550,034,255,0
1823IMRaghunandan Kaumandur SrihariIND2402KAR6,50,045,049,534,505,0
1920IMNitin S.IND2422TN6,50,045,048,534,504,0
2035IMDeshmukh AnupIND2285MAH6,50,044,048,533,256,0

Pairings for round 10:

Bo.No. NameRtgPts.ResultPts.NameRtg No.
GMGareyev Timur260578GMRozum Ivan2595
FMKarthik Venkataraman247677FMErigaisi Arjun2386
GMLaxman R.R.243477IMVisakh N R2457
IMLlaneza Vega Marcos242177GMDzhumaev Marat2434
IMSidhant Mohapatra23827GMTukhaev Adam2570
GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.2475GMTiviakov Sergei2584
IMKhusenkhojaev Muhammad2462GMSolodovnichenko Yuri2571
IMRaghunandan Kaumandur Srihari2402GMSivuk Vitaly2550
IMDeshmukh Anup2285GMAtalik Suat2538
GMPruijssers Roeland2536IMNitin S.2422
IMKarthikeyan P.2497IMRathnakaran K.2372
GMNguyen Duc Hoa2490GMRoy Chowdhury Saptarshi2318
Dixit Nikhil21396GMHorvath Adam2484
GMTran Tuan Minh254866Mithil Ajgaonkar2219
Tiwari Arjun217966GMCzebe Attila2458
Phoobalan P.215866Arjun Kalyan2407
IMRamnathan Balasubramaniam215766IMAmeir Moheb2394
CMKushagra Mohan215066IMKandil Adham2294
IMHegde Ravi Gopal210566Muthaiah Al2291
FMGajwa Ankit228466Dahale Atul2102


Contact Us