chessbase india logo

Chennai 2018 Round 8: Deepan and Laxman play a crazy game of chess!

by Sagar Shah - 24/01/2018

There are days in chess when the quality of the game takes precedence over the result. Eighth round at the Chennai International 2018 was one such day! Deepan Chakkravarthy playing with the white pieces complicated the position to such an extent that there was no coming back. Laxman held his nerve, took advantage of Deepan's inaccuracies and scored a win. He now leads the tournament with 7.0/8 along with Ivan Rozum. Ivan beat his Ukrainian opponent Adam Tukhaev. Round nine will see this interesting clash on the top board between Rozum and Laxman. In the round eight report we have a detailed analysis of the Deepan vs Laxman encounter. 

Chess can be played with different energy levels by different players. There are some strong players who are content with a draw and for them chess is more of a result-oriented exercise than anything else. But there are a few players who want to play uncompromising chess, come what may! It doesn't matter whether they are in the lead or they are struggling on the last board, they just want to fight it out. One such player is Deepan Chakkravarthy. Deepan was in the joint lead with three other players and was fighting it out on the top board against GM Laxman Rajaram.

Deepan gets up from the board to have a neutral view of the position!

Black's pieces looked menacingly placed towards White's king. So Deepan pushed his pawn to f4. Now the position becomes extremely sharp because the knight moves from e4 and the e3 pawn is extremely weak.

Black has won the e3 pawn, but White has a trick up his sleeve - Rxc5! If Bxc5 then Qc2 with a double attack on c5 and h7.

The most critical moment of the game. White sacrifices his queen with ...Ne3+ Rxg3 Nxd1, but he had seen a bit further

Rxg7! was a powerful strike with Deepan getting a very dangerous attack!

Rxh7 would have given White a tangible advantage, instead Deepan played Rdg5 and after Qc7 the attack didn't crash through!

When you play such complex games, it is not possible to have control over the position and the calculations!
"Chess is cruel" - Deepan Chakkravarthy!

Good luck buddy! Now go and win the tournament!

Two good friends Adam Tukhaev (white) and Ivan Rozum (black) faced each other in the eighth round

After the game, we asked Adam - what went wrong? "Ivan just played too strong!" Rozum has found his groove and is now two steps away from winning a title on Indian soil. Laxman stands in his way! Who will win the crucial ninth round?

Sergei Tiviakov is having a hard time at the event. He lost the eighth round against...

...GM Marat Dzhumaev. The Uzbek GM really played a power packed game to outwit his strong Dutch opponent.

Watching his protege closely - IM V. Saravanan visits the playing hall

Two men who are critical for the success of the event: Chief arbiter Nitin Shenvi (left) and technical director R. Anantharam

IM Ravi Hegde beat FM Ankit Gajwa

Not his best tournament in the circuit. Suat Atalik is on 6.0/8.

Kushagra Mohan is playing solid chess and is already gaining 55 Elo points from this event!

Not the happiest of performances for Timur. But if he wins the last two rounds he can finish with a very respectable 8.0/10.

Visakh N.R. is currently on 6.5/8

How can you go wrong when Vishy is your guru!

The joy of being in Chennai - Filter coffee!

Results of round 8

Bo.No. NameRtgPts.ResultPts.NameRtg No.
15GMTukhaev Adam257060 - 16GMRozum Ivan25952
214GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.247560 - 16GMLaxman R.R.243419
318GMDzhumaev Marat24341 - 0GMTiviakov Sergei25843
420IMNitin S.2422½ - ½GMSivuk Vitaly25506
521IMLlaneza Vega Marcos2421½ - ½GMAtalik Suat25388
69GMPruijssers Roeland2536½ - ½Muthaiah Al229134
725FMErigaisi Arjun23861 - 0IMKarthikeyan P.249710
813FMKarthik Venkataraman2476½ - ½IMSidhant Mohapatra238226
917IMVisakh N R24571 - 0Saravana Krishnan P.232330
107GMTran Tuan Minh254851 - 0Pranav V227538
111GMGareyev Timur260551 - 05Singh S. Vikramjit222742
124GMSolodovnichenko Yuri257151 - 05Mithil Ajgaonkar221948
1352Tiwari Arjun217950 - 15GMHorvath Adam248412
1415IMKhusenkhojaev Muhammad24625½ - ½5Harshavardhan G B210768
1556Sahil Tickoo216150 - 15GMCzebe Attila245816
1659CMKushagra Mohan21505½ - ½5Arjun Kalyan240722
1723IMRaghunandan Kaumandur Srihari240251 - 05Kumar S.1852134
1864Dixit Nikhil21395½ - ½5IMRathnakaran K.237227
19136WFMLakshmi C183650 - 15GMRoy Chowdhury Saptarshi231831
2069IMHegde Ravi Gopal210551 - 05FMGajwa Ankit228436

Rank after round 8 

Rk.SNo NamesexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
GMLaxman R.R.IND2434ICF7,00,038,041,535,506,0
GMRozum IvanRUS2595RUS7,00,035,037,533,506,0
IMVisakh N RIND2457TN6,50,037,541,032,755,0
GMDzhumaev MaratUZB2434UZB6,50,036,040,032,006,0
FMErigaisi ArjunIND2386TEL6,50,035,039,031,755,0
GMTukhaev AdamUKR2570UKR6,00,041,045,031,505,0
FMKarthik VenkataramanIND2476AP6,00,040,044,031,005,0
IMHegde Ravi GopalIND2105KAR6,00,040,043,530,755,0
GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.IND2475ICF6,00,040,043,030,005,0
GMPruijssers RoelandNED2536NED6,00,038,542,530,754,0
GMSivuk VitalyUKR2550UKR6,00,038,542,029,255,0
IMSidhant MohapatraIND2382ODI6,00,036,540,028,505,0
GMTran Tuan MinhVIE2548VIE6,00,036,540,028,006,0
GMGareyev TimurUSA2605USA6,00,036,040,528,506,0
IMLlaneza Vega MarcosESP2421ESP6,00,036,039,027,505,0
GMHorvath AdamHUN2484HUN6,00,035,540,029,506,0
Muthaiah AlIND2291TN6,00,035,538,526,255,0
IMNitin S.IND2422TN6,00,035,037,527,504,0
IMRaghunandan Kaumandur SrihariIND2402KAR6,00,034,037,527,255,0
GMCzebe AttilaHUN2458HUN6,00,033,537,528,254,0

Pairing of round 9:

12GMRozum Ivan259577GMLaxman R.R.243419
217IMVisakh N R2457GMDzhumaev Marat243418
325FMErigaisi Arjun23866GMSolodovnichenko Yuri25714
416GMCzebe Attila245866GMGareyev Timur26051
55GMTukhaev Adam257066IMNitin S.242220
66GMSivuk Vitaly255066GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.247514
726IMSidhant Mohapatra238266GMTran Tuan Minh25487
88GMAtalik Suat253866IMRaghunandan Kaumandur Srihari240223
931GMRoy Chowdhury Saptarshi231866GMPruijssers Roeland25369
1012GMHorvath Adam248466IMLlaneza Vega Marcos242121
1134Muthaiah Al229166FMKarthik Venkataraman247613
123GMTiviakov Sergei25846IMHegde Ravi Gopal210569
1338Pranav V2275IMKarthikeyan P.249710
1468Harshavardhan G B2107GMNguyen Duc Hoa249011
1593CMBharath Subramaniyam H1998IMKhusenkhojaev Muhammad246215
1622Arjun Kalyan2407Ram S. Krishnan222344
1724IMAmeir Moheb2394CMKushagra Mohan215059
1827IMRathnakaran K.2372Nguyen Phuoc Tam206879
1930Saravana Krishnan P.2323Dixit Nikhil213964
2033IMKandil Adham2294Barath Kalyan M202288


Watch the games live

Contact Us