chessbase india logo

Ashutosh Kumar triumphs at Chess for Everyone Rating Open 2024 in Mizoram

by Shahid Ahmed - 28/03/2024

Ashutosh Kumar scored 8/9 to win 44th Robula Chess Trophy, Chess for Everyone Rating Open 2024 in Aizawl, Mizoram. Ashutosh won the tournament with a round to spare as he score eight straight wins. His last round loss did not affect his championship chances. Lalbiak Mawia, H Lalrinthanga and Saingura Sailo scored 7.5/9 each. They were placed second to fourth according to tie-breaks. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹95700. The top three prizes were ₹25000, ₹10000 and ₹7000 along with a trophy and certificate each respectively. This is Ashutosh's first rating tournament triumph of the year. His last rating tournament victory was in June 2014, nearly a decade ago. The objective of Chess for Everyone tournaments is to have a low entry barrier of only ₹250, encourage maximum players to take part in rating tournaments and gain rating. Photos: Mizoram Chess Association

Ashutosh wins the event with a round to spare

Ashutosh Kumar scored 8/8 to win the tournament with a round to go. Lalremruata, Lalbiak Mawia, H Lalrinthanga and Saingura Sailo were trailing them by 1.5 points at 6.5/8 each. Lalrinthanga defeated Ashutosh in the final round to finish third. Lalbiak won against Lalfakmawia P C to finish at second place. The tournament was sponsored by Robula Family.

Champion - Ashutosh Kumar 8/9

Top 3 (L to R): 2nd Lalbiak Mawia 7.5/9, 1st Ashutosh Kumar 8/9 and 3rd H Lalrinthanga 7.5/9

Ashutosh Kumar in action

Ashutosh Kumar won the tournament with a round to spare 8/8, his last round loss against the eventual second runner-up, H Lalrinthanga did not affect his championship chances

4th Saingura Sailo 7.5/9

5th Nithanga F 7/9

6th Divyangshu Kumar Singh 7/9

Players in action

There is no age limit in an open tournament in chess, so anyone can truly face anyone

Various prize winners

Group photograph of the prize winners

Players and accompanying persons at the closing ceremony

The tournament hall at Ramhlun Indoor Stadium in Aizawl, Mizoram

A total of 111 players took part from various parts of Mizoram and two from Bihar in this six-day nine round Rating Open tournament. It was organized by Mizoram Chess Association at Ramhlun Indoor Stadium in Aizawl, Mizoram from 16th to 21st March 2024. The time control of the event was 90 minutes  + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Replay all available games

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypRtgIClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 Krtg+/-
17Ashutosh Kumar1825Bihar84851,544,00082015,4
210Lalbiak Mawia1777Champhai7,5475142,7507204
315H Lalrinthanga1700Lunglei7,54548,539,25074034,8
421Saingura Sailo1657Aizawl7,540,54436,25074062,4
552Nithanga F0Lawngtlai748,55337,5007
625Divyanshu Kumar Singh1629Bihar74547,535,50074036,8
818John Zonunthara Sailo1675Aizawl6,546,55033,00064026
943Cosie Rorelkima0Aizawl6,54649,533,2506



Mizoram Chess Association

Contact Us