chessbase india logo

7th Sharjah Masters 2024 starts on 14th May

by Himank Ghosh - 25/04/2024

Sharjah Masters is regarded as one of the strongest Swiss chess tournaments held in the calendar year. Last year, a total of 78 Grandmasters above 2518 took part in the Masters. The event was won by Arjun Erigaisi, and D Gukesh finished third. The seventh edition will take place from 14th to 23rd May 2024. GM Parham Maghsoodloo is the top seed of the Masters section. Nihal Sarin will be the highest rated Indian in the field. There are also two more sections - Challengers and Futures. The nine-round Classical Swiss tournament will be an exciting affair as usual with many top Grandmasters from India and the World taking part. Read all about the tournament in the article below. Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Nihal Sarin will be the highest rated Indian in the field

The Sharjah Cultural and Chess Club will host the 7th edition of Sharjah Masters this year from 14th to 23rd May. With three sections - Masters, Challengers, and Futures, 200+ players will be seen in action. As usual, the Masters section has some of the top Grandmasters in the World competing for the first prize.

The front page of the Official tournament regulations

Sharjah Chess Club - the venue where the tournament will take place

The tournament will be a 9-round swiss event, with the time control of 90 minutes + 30 second increment per move starting from move one. There will be a 30-minute delay in broadcast due to anti-cheating measures.

Check out the tournament registration details and the tournament data

The playing schedule is the same for the Masters and Challengers section, and it is slightly different for the Futures Category. The first round for all the sections start at 14th May at 5 p.m. local time.


The Champion of the Masters section will receive US$ 12000. For the challengers, it is US$ 2000 and for the Futures section it is US$ 1500. The winners will also receive a gold medal and beautiful trophies.

Check out the complete prize structure

Hotel Centro Rotana Sharjah will be the Official Hotel of the tournament.

Some more tournament regulations and contact details of the Organizers.

The top seeds

Parham Maghsoodloo (2732, IRI) is the top seed in the Masters section | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Yangyi Yu (2728, CHN) is the second seed | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Teimour Radjabov (AZE, 2723) is the third highest rated player in the event | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Nihal Sarin (2698, IND) is the highest rated player from India taking part in the tournament | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

GM Harika Dronavalli (2503, IND) will be the sole Indian woman participating | Photo: Lennart Ootes

Previous edition

6th Sharjah Masters 2023 champion - GM Arjun Erigaisi 6.5/9 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Top 3 (L to R): 3rd GM D Gukesh, 1st GM Arjun Erigaisi and 2nd GM Samuel Sevian (USA) | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Masters players list

1GMMaghsoodloo, Parham12539929IRI2732
2GMYu, Yangyi8603820CHN2728
3GMRadjabov, Teimour13400924AZE2723
4GMTabatabaei, M. Amin12521213IRI2707
5GMArtemiev, Vladislav24101605RUS2705
6GMEsipenko, Andrey24175439FID2703
7GMSarana, Alexey24133795SRB2703
8GMNihal, Sarin25092340IND2698
9GMSevian, Samuel2040506USA2698
10GMNarayanan, S L5058422IND2695
11GMDeac, Bogdan-Daniel1226380ROU2692
12GMFedoseev, Vladimir24130737SLO2690
13GMSjugirov, Sanan4189302HUN2689
14GMSindarov, Javokhir14205483UZB2684
15GMMartirosyan, Haik M.13306553ARM2678
16GMNiemann, Hans Moke2093596USA2676
17GMShankland, Sam2004887USA2671
18GMYakubboev, Nodirbek14203987UZB2665
19GMAravindh, Chithambaram Vr.5072786IND2662
20GMSadhwani, Raunak35093487IND2654


Challengers players list

1GMDelgado Ramirez, Neuris3503631PAR2484
2GMBurmakin, Vladimir4105109RUS2480
3GMRios Gomez, Cristhian Camilo4403940COL2466
4IMNitish, Belurkar5084768IND2449
5FMLashkin, Jegor13907808MDA2449
6IMKrishna, C R G5018625IND2445
7IMDivya, Deshmukh35006916IND2427
8IMGarifullina, Leya34127035FID2427
9IMRakhmatullaev, Almas14205793UZB2425
10IMSibashvili, Giorgi13602799GEO2423
11FMHarsh, Suresh45018464IND2413
12IMMohammad Fahad, Rahman10207791BAN2411
13FMVaz, Ethan25940783IND2411
14FMSuyarov, Mukhammadzokhid14210495UZB2405
15IMSammed Jaykumar, Shete5073421IND2404
16GMGrivas, Efstratios4200039GRE2396
17CMMayank, Chakraborty25659766IND2386
18IMViani, Antonio Dcunha5027330IND2385
19FMAradhya, Garg25006746IND2385
20FMHakobyan, Erik13313940ARM2383


Futures players list

1Sameir, Ramez10606017FID1896
2Brito Carrascal, Isabela4456122COL1893
3Abdalla, Mansoor Abdalla12205036SUD1878
4AFMAlizada, Agshin13430718AZE1868
5AGMShubham, Shukla25061623IND1863
6Nuriyeva, Nurtan13423746AZE1859
7AFMAhmed, Nidal11504048PLE1852
8Mahmudzade, Yunis13433717AZE1850
9Samrat, Ghorai5033659IND1846
10Mansurov, Botir14228114UZB1835
11Rashed Abubaker, Alhemeiri9320644UAE1832
12Aryan, Mehta33329664IND1809
13Ibrahimli, Suat13441906AZE1801
14WCMBashirli, Saadat13429990AZE1800
15Humaidan Mohamed, Alzaabi9318054UAE1800
16Zhou, Shumeng8622116CHN1800
17Krisha, Tamhant Jain33380252IND1792
18Omer, Marof Mohamed12205788SUD1788
19Alhammadi, Khalifa Mohamed9319166UAE1779
20Aghaverdiyeva, Maryam13452509AZE1773



Official site

Tournament regulations

Contact Us