chessbase india logo

Rating avg: 2531! Come, join this insanely strong blitz event!

by Sagar Shah - 01/12/2017

The rating average of top 14 players of National Premier 2017 was 2480. The rating average of the SMCA online blitz tournament to be held on 3rd December 2017 (at 10 a.m.) is 2531! The tournament is the strongest ever blitz online event that you can ever play. While Adhiban is the top seed, it is not absolutely clear whether he is the favourite. He will face an extremely tough fight from Sethuraman and Gopal. And we have the trio of super Indian talent - Aravindh Chithambaram, Karthikeyan Murali and S.L. Narayanan. And as if all of this was not enough, we mustn't forget the Playchess Guru - Lalith Babu! It's your chance to be a part of this fun. Don't miss it.

When Adhiban is playing a tournament on Indian soil you can most certainly agree that he is the favourite to win the title. However, at the 4th ChessBase India online prize money blitz event dedicated to SMCA celebrating its 21st anniversary, things are not at all clear. Sethuraman is clearly a big challenge. We have G.N. Gopal who has proved his mettle at various events to be an extremely strong blitz player. The trio of Indian talents Aravindh, Karthikeyan and S.L. Narayanan would definitely be wanting to win their first ChessBase India online event. But there is one guy that everyone should rightly fear and he is Lalith Babu! aka Anji.


Lalith scored 9.0/9 in the first blitz tournament that we organized. Then in the second one he had a disconnection when he was leading with 7.0/7. This gave a chance to others to win that event and Vaibhav Suri raced to the finish line to finish first. In the third event it was once again Lalith who beat everyone else and became the champion with one round to spare. Although he is the eighth seed at the SMCA online blitz, there are high chances that Lalith Babu would win this once again. All eyes will be on whether someone can stop him!

Anji (Lalith Babu) - National Premier Champion and the most accomplished Indian player on the Playchess server!

Apart from all of these top players we also have some blitz specialists like Swayams Mishra (Mr.bh6) and R.R. Laxman (Laxman) who are well known on the Playchess servers as extremely strong players. And not to forget FM Sai Krishna (Pennkrishna) who has always performed well at these online events. But the best part about blitz format is the unpredictability. Just about anyone of the top seeds can win the event!

When and Where?

The tournament will be held on 3rd of December, Sunday at 10 a.m on the Playchess server in the Vishy Anand Arena in the ChessBase India room. 10 rounds of 3' + 1" blitz.

Registered Players:

You will never get a chance to play such a strong event! It is highly possible that you might even meet 10 titled players in 10 rounds!

Serial No.NameRatingPlaychess ID
1GM B Adhiban2655phoenix92
2GM S.P. Sethuraman2638Piscean
3GM G.N.Gopal2589ilusionist60
4GM Aravindh Chithambaram2586Refresh
5GM Murali Karthikeyan2580fighter64
6GM S L Narayanan2573Indianwonder
7GM Vaibhav Suri2560irus1997
8GM Lalith Babu M R2525Anji
9GM Abhimanyu Puranik2521pabh
10GM Debashis Das2501debashis das
11GM M S Thejkumar2500msthej
12GM Dibyendu Barua2448Dibyendu Barua
13IM Swayams Mishra2444Mr bh6
14IM Nitin S2424snitin
15GM Rajaram Laxman2397Laxman
16IM Rakesh Kumar Jena2394Imrk_64
17IM Sidhant Mohapatra2371Sidhant
18IM Hemant Sharma2348Aru Baba
19FM Sai Krishna G V2370pennkrishna
20FM Arjun Erigaisi2365Indian-Lion
21IM Ravi Teja S2369Ravi Teja S
22FM Raunak Sadhwani2339devil1234
23IM Dhulipalla Bala Chandra Prasad2334Samudragupta
24FM Mitrabha Guha2315Babysnake
25Raja Rithvik Rajavaram2241chesswarrior
26Koustav Chatterjee2288KoustavChatterjee1
27Dushyant Sharma2219Dushu2930
28Kushagra Mohan2174bindusara
29Girish B Chandanani2169sanjanachandanani
30FM Arvind C J2166Junosource
31Panesar Vedant2161brainboy123
32Anand Nadar2158Anand_Nadar
33Sahil Tickoo2131TheHope
34Priyanka Nutakki2107Chess  Queen
35Swayangsu Satyakam2033FUTGEN
36LAKSHMAN RAO D2022laxmi123
37Kushager Krishnater2021kushu_attack
38RISHAB SHAH1973DarkKnight8750
39Kotepalli Sai Nirupama1949saraswathii
40PAVAN BNB1915loss2win
41SHOURYA JAIN1871chesscombat2237
42Bommini Mounika Akshaya1829Akhi
43Karthikeyan Jeyaprakasam1811chessmotives_com
45KARTHIK GOPAL G1784amma_007
46ARAVIND BABU L1776chessislife6
47Saketh Pedagandham1762Me N Chess
48Vishvesh Kochrekar1745Vishvesh2017
49Rajesh Gupta1706chessbattle
50BHAVEN JAY SHAH1678Darkrai7
53Mohit Swami1549mohitswami1022
54Akavaram Ashish Reddy1496Aashish2003
55KUSH BHAGAT1392secret superstar
56Tanmay Ajmera1390Tanmanyo
57Sankaran Ponnada Krishnaswamy1312123456
58Aujsya Mohta1110aujsyamohta
59Nandakumar Shroff0nksnks2011
60ROUNAIV RANA0rocketspeed19
61Sanditya Srivastava0Sanditya2510
62Shorya Mohta0shoryamohta


What are they fighting for?

The total prize fund is Rs.62,500

(Introducing for the first time female as well as age category prizes!)

Main Prize list:


Best female player: Rs.2,500

Age category prizes:

Best under-8 (born on or after 1/1/2009) - Rs.800

Best under-10 (born on or after 1/1/2007) - Rs.800

Best under-12 (born on or after 1/1/2005) - Rs.800

Best under-14 (born on or after 1/1/2003)- Rs.800

Best under-16 (born on or after 1/1/2001) - Rs.800


Special prizes:


How to register?

The tournament will be played on 3rd December at 10 a.m. IST. All you have to do is register on the "Payumoney" button given below. Enter your details, pay Rs.500 and get ready for the big day!

We recommend that you be present at the Vishy Anand Arena in the ChessBase India room on Playchess server at 9.30 a.m. IST. And how do you do that? Here's a step by step tutorial:

All the details about the blitz tournament on 3rd December

Related links:

Official homepage of South Mumbai Chess Academy (SMCA)

Check out how the first ChessBase India Prize money online tournament was conducted

Vaibhav Suri wins second ChessBase India Prize money online tournament

Lalith Babu wins third ChessBase India Prize money online tournament