chessbase india logo

Nikhil Dixit wins Varadraj Memorial All India Rapid Rating 2019

by Shahid Ahmed - 11/06/2019

Fourth seeded FM Nikhil Dixit scored an unbeaten 8.0/9 to win Varadraj Memorial All India Open Rapid Rating held at Chhatrapati Shahu Stadium, Satara on 30th and 31st May 2019. Ranveer Mohite also finished with 8.0/9. However due to a lower tie-break score, he had to settle for the runner-up position. Three players scored 7.5/9 and out of them Sammed Jayakumar Shette was placed third, due to his tie-break score. The tournament witnessed 198 players from various states across the country. Total ₹100000 Prize fund was distributed among 124 prizes. Satara District Chess Association and Varadraj Memorial Trust jointly organized this event. Photo: IA Kaviraj Sawant

Nikhil Dixit wins his first Rapid Rating Open of the year

FM Nikhil Dixit won a Blitz tournament in Sangli, just over a week before winning the Rapid Rating tournament at Sangli. There also Sammed Shete secured runner-up position, but there he finished a full point behind.

Top 3 (L to R): Sammed Jayakumar Shette - 3rd, Nikhil Dixit - 1st and Ranveer Mohite - 2nd with their prizes | Photo: Kaviraj Sawant

The prizes were distributed by Kiran Saymote CEO ZP Satara. The other dignitaries were Rajendra Konde Treasurer AMCA, Sanjay Shinde Corporater Satara, Jayant Uthale President Satara District Chess Association, Vishal Kanase Founder, Varadraj Memorial Foundation, Satara, Prashant Shingate President Varadraj Foundation, Satara, and IA Kaviraj Sawant Chief Arbiter.

Nikhil scored an unbeaten 8.0/9, increased his ELO Rating by 20 points, won a beautiful trophy and ₹21000 cash

Inaugural move is being made | Photo: Kaviraj Sawant

Top boards in action | Photo: Kaviraj Sawant

Tournament Hall | Photo: Kaviraj Sawant

The tournament witnessed 198 players from various states across the country. Total ₹100000 Prize fund was distributed among 124 prizes. Satara District Chess Association and Varadraj Memorial Trust jointly organized this event at Chhatrapati Shahu Stadium on 30th and 31st May 2019.


Final Ranking after 9 Rounds

Rk.SNo NameFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
FMDixit NikhilIND2003MAH8,00,051,053,546,507
Mohite RanveerIND1920MAH8,00,049,053,046,508
Sammed Jaykumar SheteIND1977MAH7,50,049,551,539,507
Nikam RavindraIND1750MAH7,50,047,551,541,257
Shubham LakudkarIND1911MAH7,50,042,546,537,507
Gandhi AnishIND1944MAH7,00,052,557,542,507
Shreyas GhadiIND1598MAH7,00,050,554,039,507
Gokhale Rishabh ChandrashekharIND1348MAH7,00,046,049,536,756
Soni Deepak RIND1434MAH7,00,046,049,534,507
ACMIyer ArvindIND1255MAH7,00,045,048,536,507
Joshi TejasIND1323MAH7,00,043,546,532,507
Patil Harshal UIND1124MAH7,00,042,045,032,007
Swaraj PalitIND2075JHA6,50,054,056,539,256
Snehal BhosaleIND2053MAH6,50,053,056,037,505
Hariketan G. ChitaleIND1717MAH6,50,047,051,536,006
Warude SatyamIND1710MAH6,50,047,051,037,255
Sharan RaoIND1803KAR6,50,046,551,035,006
AIMKulkarni RakeshIND1471MAH6,50,046,549,032,755
Ghadge VinodIND1982Mah-S6,50,044,048,535,256
Gote KaustubhIND1156MAH6,50,043,046,531,256
Devi Das Suresh PaiIND1554KAR6,50,043,045,531,756
Jadhav JyotiradityaIND1208Mah-S6,50,042,545,530,006
Rohan Bharat JoshiIND1714MAH6,00,050,054,533,506
Golvankar Dilip KIND1575MAH6,00,048,552,531,755
Umesh M. KulkarniIND1810MAH6,00,047,551,030,006

Complete Standings

Related news:
Aravindh Chithambaram scores a hat-trick by clinching 1st Rejoice CTF Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 11/05/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aravindh Chithambaram successfully retains his National Blitz Chess Championship

@ 02/05/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aravindh Chithambaram becomes the MPL National Rapid Champion 2022

@ 30/04/2022 by Sagar Shah (en)
MPL National Rapid and Blitz Chess Championships 2022 preview

@ 20/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Diptayan Ghosh clinches 2nd Dombivli Kalyan Rapid Rating Open 2021

@ 02/01/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Anish Gandhi wins Late Shripad Kulkarni Memorial All India Rating Open

@ 19/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Women's Day Special: LBHM One Day Rapid witnesses over 330 players participation

@ 12/03/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Soham Datar wins 4th Young Masters Rapid Open 2020

@ 11/03/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sriram Sarja wins 3rd Young Masters Rapid Chess Open 2020

@ 14/02/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Nubairshah wins Late R B Sapre Memorial Open Rapid Rating 2020

@ 30/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Raghubar and Kanchan win Old Monk's Pune District Veterans Open and Women's Rapid

@ 28/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Let's remember our first national champion of India - R B Sapre

@ 14/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Rutuja Bakshi creates history by winning Maharashtra State Open 2019

@ 16/11/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Om Kadam and Shruti Kale win Maharashtra State selection under-11 2019

@ 14/09/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aditya Samant wins Young Masters Rapid with a 100% score

@ 06/09/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Maharashtra State Schools witness over 600 participants

@ 04/09/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Garden High wins 13th Chessmate Inter School Team Rapid Rating 2019

@ 07/07/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Srijit Paul wins Saturday Club Youth Rapid Rating 2019

@ 12/06/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
16-year-old Keval Nirgun wins Late Babukaka Shirgaokar Open at Sangli

@ 04/06/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Al Muthaiah wins 3rd Shaastra Rapid Rating

@ 02/03/2019 by R Anantharam (en)