chessbase india logo

Giga Quparadze wins 7th Batumi Municipality Cup Open 2023, Aradhya Garg second

by Shahid Ahmed - 19/07/2023

GM Giga Quparadze (GEO), FM Aradhya Garg and IM Vahe Danielyan (ARM) scored 6.5/9 each at 7th International Chess Festival - Batumi Municipality Cup 2023 Open A (≥ 2200). Giga won the tournament due to better tie-breaks. Aradhya and Vahe were placed second and third respectively. IM-elect Aradhya gained a valuable 23.4 Elo rating points. He needs to touch 2400 in the live ratings to become India's latest IM. The total prize fund of the entire festival was 50250 GEL. The top three prizes in the Open A were 7000, 4000 and 3000 GEL each respectively. Aradhya is currently playing his final round game at Issykkul Open 2023. He is gaining some more rating points and storming towards his IM title. Photos: Chess Club Nona

Top three score 6.5/9

The 7th International Chess Festival - Batumi Munipality Cup had three rating category events: Open A (≥ 2200), Open B (Below 2200), Open C (1600 and below), one Blitz Open and six different age group category events. The combined participation in all ten events was over 510 from 17 countries across the world.

Runner-up - IM-elect FM Aradhya Garg 6.5/9

Top two - 2nd FM Aradhya Garg 6.5/9 and 1st GM Giga Quparadze (GEO) 6.5/9

9th - IM P Saravana Krishnan 5.5/9

IM P Saravana Krishnan and FM Aradhya Garg battling side by side

Top boards of Open A category

7th Batumi Municipality Cup International Chess Festival 2023 tournament flex

Trophies for the prize winners

Parents and accompanying persons at the gallery

The tournament hall at Mukhran Vakhtangadze Sport Palace in Batumi, Georgia

A total of 33 players including 3 GMs and 10 IMs took part in the Open A (>2200) section from five countries across the world. Both nine-round Swiss League Rating tournaments took place from 2nd to 10th July 2023. The tournaments were organized by Municipality of Batumi, Chess Club Nona and Georgian Chess Federation at Mukhran Vakhtangadze Sport Palace in Batumi, Georgia. The time control of the event was 90 minutes / 40 moves + 30 minutes for the rest of game + 30 seconds increment for each move.

Final standings in Open A

Rk.SNo NamesexGrFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
GMQuparadze, GigaGEO25126,54346,50533
FMAradhya, GargIND23396,538,5420527
IMDanielyan, VaheARM23466,538,541,50627,5
FMHakobyan, ErikARM2079643,545,50537,5
FMAgasarov, BenikARM223564245,50429,5
IMMorchiashvili, BachanaGEO2268639,5430328,5
Gasparyan, Erik R.ARM22355,542,544,50226
FMDavtyan, ArsenARM23565,542460328,5
IMSaravana, Krishnan P.IND22185,537400422,5
FMYeremyan, AlenARM22875,53434,50425



Official site

Tournament details

Contact Us