chessbase india logo

David Brodsky triumphs at 89th Annual Southwest Open 2023, Koustav, Rahul and Saksham share second place

by Shahid Ahmed - 28/09/2023

GM David Brodsky (USA) scored an unbeaten 6/7 to win 89th Annual Southwest Open 2023. He finished a half point ahead of the field. Seven players - GM Koustav Chatterjee, GM Ivan Schitco (MDA), FM Sharvesh R Deviprasath (USA), IM Karolis Juksta (LTU), GM Rahul Srivasthav P, IM Saksham Rautela and Lucius Melillo (USA) scored 5.5/7 each. They shared second place. The winner received US$ 1200 + plauqe. The eight players who shared second place got US$ 400 each. This was Koustav's first tournament in USA. All three Indians who shared second place are a student of University of Texas at Dallas. Photos: Texas Chess Association

Koustav, Rahul and Saksham score 5.5/7

Champion - GM David Brodsky (USA) 6/7

Runner-up - GM Koustav Chatterjee 5.5/7

Runner-up - GM Rahul Srivasthav P 5.5/7

Runner-up - IM Saksham Rautela 5.5/7

The tournament hall at Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental in Houston, TX in USA

A total of 128 players including 5 GMs, 2 IMs and a WIMs took part in the Open section. The four-day seven round Swiss-league Rating tournament was organized by Franc Guadalupe at Sheraton North Houston in Houston, Texas in USA from 1st to 4th September 2023. The time control for the tournament was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings


Contact Us